Approvals and Certification

Most authorities require AIS products to be certified and tested to conform to IMO standards prior to being used in their territories. AIS is a carefully balanced system with multiple independent devices operating within it. To ensure the system continues to work, it is important for testing to ensure interopability.

To ensure interoperability within the AIS system, products need to meet a series of international and national standards. to meet these standards, each product needs to be tested by a competent and experienced third party. Testing by a third party ensures transparency and that the device will operate within the AIS system, as it is intended to.

Once testing has been carried out, the reports are given to a notified body who have the authority to award the standard. This thorough testing and certification process maintains the integrity of the AIS system.

Competent testing houses: TUV, BSH, York EMC, Hursley EMC, SRRC

Leading notified bodies that award the standards: BABT, BSH, NZAUCtick, CCNR

Using the standards developed by IALA and the ITU, IMO members implement testing procedures to ensure each AIS device is interoperable within the AIS system in their region. Below you can find details on each standard, their acronyms, and what AIS devices they cover.


USCG – United States Coast Guard

FCC – Federal Communications Commission

MED – Martitime Equipment Directive

R&TTE – Radio and Telecommunications Terminal Equipment (CE approval)

IC – Industry Canada

TC – Transport Canada

CCNR – Central Commission for Navigation of the Rhine